The Music Department

The Choir of All Saints Kingston

David Condry

Director of Music

David Condry is Director of Music at All Saints Kingston and head of Choral music and Vocal studies at the Yehudi Menuhin School. David studied music at Leeds University whilst holding a choral scholarship at Leeds Parish Church under the direction of Simon Lindley. Since leaving Leeds, David was bass and (latterly) a countertenor Songman (Lay Clerk) at York Minster and subsequently Assistant Director of Music at Bradford Cathedral, where he directed the Cathedral Girls Choir and played the organ, including for recordings and a BBC radio broadcast. In addition to a busy career as a conductor and organist, David is a professional singer (now a tenor) and alongside solo and occasional operatic work, sings with the Brabant Ensemble – directed by Dr Stephen Rice, a former All Saints chorister, as well as having sung with Tenebrae. David is also a regular deputy at Westminster Abbey, Westminster Cathedral, St Paul’s Cathedral and the London Oratory and before coming to All Saints was a tenor in the professional choir of St Mary’s, Bourne Street under Paul Brough. David was born and grew up in Kingston and was a chorister in nearby Mortlake Parish Church.


Matthew O’Malley


Matthew O’Malley is Director of Music at Tiffin School and Organist of All Saints’ Church Kingston. He studied music at Hertford College, Oxford where he directed the Chapel Choir as Organ Scholar. He has since been an organist of All Saints’ Fulham and St. Alfege Greenwich. Matthew has enjoyed conducting and accompanying school choirs, orchestras and bands in concerts, on tour, and in broadcasts and recordings. He was a member of the cathedral choirs of Wells, Guildford and Peterborough, and of Jesus College Choir Cambridge. As a student, his formative musical experiences were as a clarinettist with the National Children’s Wind Orchestra and youth orchestras in Cambridgeshire and Oxford. Matthew has been Director of Music at Surbiton and Blackheath High Schools, and Assistant Director of Music at Royal Grammar School, Guildford.


Music Staff Past and Present


Director of Music/Choirmaster Organist/Assistant organist
1954 – 1960 Fergus O’Connor 1954 – 1960 Fergus O’Connor
1960 – 1962 John Walker 1961 –  John Reynolds
1962 – 1967 Alan Spedding 1962 – 2001 Brian Lewis
1967 – 1994 David Nield    
1994 – 2002 Simon Toyne 2001 Tim Burke
    2001 David Soar
2002 – 2003 David Soar 2002 Stephen Westrop
2003 – 2005 David Terry 2002 – 2005 Mervyn Williams
2005- 2015 Simon Toyne 2005 – 2007 Tim Burke
    2007 – 2015 Stephen Westrop
2015 – 2018 Stephen Westrop 2015 to date Matthew O’Malley
2018 to date David Condry